Ellsworth SAPR teams works to prevent sexual assault, named best in command

  • Published
  • By Tech. Sgt. R. Michael Longoria
  • 28th Bomb Wing Public Affairs
The Ellsworth AFB Sexual Assault Prevention and Response team recently added a few more accolades to their already impressive resume.

Air Force Global Strike Command announced members of the 28th Bomb Wing as winners of the 2018 Exceptional SAPR Team Award as well as two individual awards: the 2018 Exceptional Sexual Assault Response Coordinator, Bernie McFarling, and the 2018 Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Victim Advocate, Krista Sheridan.

“Congratulations to the Ellsworth SAPR team on winning these awards,” said Col. John R. Edwards, 28th Bomb Wing commander. “More importantly, thanks for their dedication and commitment to our Airmen and families in preventing sexual assaults within our wing.”

The SAPR team, McFarling and Sheridan, train and mentor 37 volunteer victim advocates, eight prevention dormitory advocates and 10 theater group members as well as provide 8,700 hours of on-call response for 10,600 military personnel, civilian employees and adult family members.

These awards recognize individuals and teams whose work has been particularly noteworthy and demonstrates outstanding service in support of sexual assault survivors. This marks the second year in a row the SAPR team and Sheridan were named the best in the command.

The AFGSC award winners will now compete at the Air Force level.